...un forum convivial consacré à toutes les maquettes à l’échelle 1/72ème...

[Academy] P-51D, Philippine AF, Shark of Zambales

Partagez
tausugair
Nouvel arrivant
Nouvel arrivant

[Academy] P-51D, Philippine AF, Shark of Zambales

Message par tausugair le Jeu 27 Fév 2014 - 11:46

This is my first time to post here. My modeling subject is a Philippine Air Force  P-51D

I have finished this subject long time back. This was the first build for me coming back to modeling aircraft after decades of absence .. This also served as test bed for the first HARIBON Decal sheet (The Shark of Zambales) . . The model wore the pre-production HARIBON Decal of the two types of markings the original aircraft carried thought out its service life..on the starboard ( seen on the header photo above) is the late markings while the port the early one...

The subject is a P-51D Mustang of the Philippine  Air Force nicknamed "The Shark of Zambales" . "The Shark.." was the personal aircraft of the 5th Fighter Wing Commander, Lt Col Benito N Ebuen (late 40s to early 50s). Ebuen rose to become the Philippine Air Force Chief and the Presidential Plane Pilot where in the latter concurrent capacity (but, not the pilot) he got killed in the crash of presidential C-47 plane nicknamed "Mt. Pinatubo" on a mountain named Mt Manunggal in Cebu in March 1957.. the Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay was also killed, with several staff, in that crash...

("Zambales" is the name of province from which Ebuen was hailed and it's located in the western part of central Island of Luzon (once the home of US Navy largest base outside US); "Pinatubo" is the name of very active volcano in Luzon (in Zambales Province) . . it had been dormant for centuries and, in World War 2, was the camp and headquarters of Guerrilla leader/fighter (against the Japanese) Ramon Magsaysay)